Tuesday, 3 April 2012

Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIIT) in India

IIIT Location

List of Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIIT) 

Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs) are a group of four institutes of higher education in India, focused on information technology. They are established by the central government, centrally funded, and managed by the Ministry of Human Resource Development.
These institutes conducted Under-Graduate and Graduate level courses, focussed on information technology. Admissions into undergraduate programmes in IIITs are through the All India Engineering Entrance Examination (AIEEE), and to PG courses is done, based on GATE exam plus other criteria.

1.  Indian Institute of Information Technology, Allahabad (IIITA)

Location: Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh
Total No. of Seats:  751
Institute Website: http://www.iiita.ac.in/

2. Pandit Dwarka Prasad Mishra Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design and Manufacturing, Jabalpur (PDPM-IIITDM)

Location: Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
Total No. of Seats: 38
Institute Website: www.iiitdmj.ac.in/

3. Atal Bihari Vajpayee – Indian Institute of Information Technology and Management, Gwalior (ABV-IIITM)

Location: Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh
Total No. of Seats: 274
Institute Website: http://www.iiitm.ac.in/

4. Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design & Manufacturing, Kancheepuram (IIITDM)

Location: Kancheepuram, Tamil Nadu
Total No. of Seats: 302
Institute Website: www.iiitdm.ac.in

20 New proposed IIITs 

A scheme for setting up 20 new IIITs on Public Private Partnership (PPP) model has been approved by Government at a capital cost of Rs. 128.00 crore for each IIIT to be contributed in the ratio of 50:30:15 by the Central Government, the State Government and the Industry respectively (57.5:35:7.5 in the case of North Eastern region). The concerned State Government will provide 50-100 acres of land, free of cost and initially the new IIITs would be registered as Societies under the Societies Registration Act, 1860.


Post a Comment